Voting & Elections
Information on Voting and Elections in the State of New Mexico.
Candidates & Campaigns
Information on how to become a candidate and about complying with campaign finance disclosure and reporting requirements.
Legislation, Lobbying & Legal Resources
Learn about Lobbying in our state. Find Legislative information to include Signed & Chaptered Bills and Legal Resources.
Start a business, maintain a business or get general information on registered businesses in New Mexico.
Notary & Apostille
Become a notary, renew your notary commission, or obtain information about apostilles or certification of official documents.
File UCC's, AG Liens, register a trademark or other commercial filings.
Safe at Home
New Mexico’s statewide address confidentiality program administered by the Secretary of State to assist victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking or similar types of crimes to receive mail using the Secretary of State’s address as a substitute for their own.
Learn about how we protect your voter and business information. You might also find a tip or two that will help you secure your information as well.
About New Mexico
Learn about New Mexico Government, History, State Symbols, State Songs and other important information about our state.
Voting and Elections
Absentee Voting by Mail
Request an Absentee Ballot
Request an absentee ballot by filling out an application and returning it to your local County Clerk. Applications can be obtained by:
- Fill out an application online by Clicking Here
- Contacting your County Clerk’s Office in person, phone, mail or email
- Downloading an Absentee Ballot Application here and mailing it or hand delivering it to your County Clerk’s Office
Applications for the 2021 Regular Local Election must be received by the County Clerk no later than 5:00 pm on Thursday, October 28, 2021.
A ballot will be sent to voters who have properly filled out the application. If the application was not completed correctly, a notification with the reason why the application was not accepted will be sent within 24 hours of receipt of the application.
If you do not receive the absentee ballot, please contact the County Clerk’s Office.
- Additional options for registering and requesting an absentee ballot for military and overseas voters are available under federal and state law. Please visit the Military and Overseas Voter Information page for more details.
What is the deadline to request an absentee ballot?
- The county clerk must receive the Application for Absent Voter Ballot no later than 14 days before the election.
- Within twenty-three (23) days of Election Day, the county clerk must either mail the ballot or notice of rejection to the applicant as soon as practicable; provided that the ballot or a notice of rejection is sent not later than twenty-two (22) days before the election (Section 1-6-5(F), NMSA 1978).
If I apply for an absentee ballot and receive it, can I change my mind and vote at my polling place on Election Day?
- Yes, but must execute an affidavit stating that the person did not and will not vote the mailed ballot that was issued. (Section 1-6-16 (A) NMSA 1978
What if I do not receive my absentee ballot?
- If you apply for, but do not receive the absentee ballot, you may apply for a replacement absentee ballot by communicating with the county clerk and requesting a replacement mailed ballot be delivered to the voter; and executes an affidavit and the county clerk has voided the mailed ballot previously issued to the voter. (Section 1-6-16 (B), NMSA 1978).
- You may also go to your polling place and vote on a replacement absentee ballot on Election Day, after signing an affidavit of non-receipt of absentee ballot (Section 1-6-16.1(A), NMSA 1978).
- In both cases, you will be required to sign a sworn statement, under penalty of perjury, that you did not receive your ballot.
Who can take the absentee ballot back to the county clerk?
- A member of your immediate family or your caregiver may hand-deliver your absentee ballot; provided that the voter has subscribed the official mailing envelope of the absentee ballot. An unrelated third party may not deliver another voter’s absentee ballot .(Section 1-6-10.1, NMSA 1978).
When does an absentee ballot have to be returned for it to be counted?
- Ballots must be returned to the county clerk or voter’s precinct by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day to be counted (Section 1-6-10 (B), NMSA 1978).
How much does it cost to mail my Absentee Ballot?
- Return postage is pre-paid. Please ensure you return the ballot with enough time for it to arrive at your County Clerk’s office before 7 pm on Election Day. For more details, log on to the Voter Information Portal.
The outer envelope of my Absentee Ballot requests an AV Register Number. Do I fill this out?
- You can leave that information blank. This information is for internal use only.
Regular Local Election: November 2, 2021