NOTICE REGARDING CHECKS PROVIDED FOR PAYMENT
Beginning April 1, 2015, the New Mexico Secretary of State’s Office will start utilizing the Conversion of Checks to ACH banking services through Wells Fargo Fiscal Agent Banking Services. This service evaluates checks for conversion eligibility and then, if applicable, converts the checks to an ACH debit transaction. The ACH transaction is then charged to the consumer's bank account instead of the paper check. This is official 30 day notification to our customers, taxpayers, and other payees that your checks received for payment may be converted to an ACH debit transaction.
''When you provide a check as payment to the Secretary of State, you authorize the State of New Mexico to either use information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account or to process the payment as a check transaction.”
(Fee includes one original Notary Public Commission Appointment Certificate.)
Notary Name Change: $3.00
(Fee includes one corrected Notary certificate.)
[*Fee is the same for a replacement Notary certificate.*]
Authentication of Notary Certification of Appointment: $3.00
The Maximum fees that may be charged by a notary public for notarial acts are:
- Acknowledgements:$5.00 per Acknowledgement
- Oaths of Affirmations without signature:$5.00 per Person
- Jurat:$5.00 per Jurat
- Copy Certifications:$.50 per Page (with a minimum total charge of $5.00).
* A notary public may charge a travel fee not to exceed thirty cents ($.30) per mile when traveling to perform a notarial act if:
- The notary public and the person requesting the notarial act agree upon the travel fee in advance of the travel; and
- The notary public explains to the person requesting the notarial act that the travel fee is separate from the notarial fees and not mandated by law.